Election 2018 Results

Last Updated on November 6th, 2018

Written by Paul Bomleny

The 2018 mid-term election is in the books. Challenger J.B. Pritzker is the governor-elect after topping incumbent Bruce Rauner 54% to 39. Kwame Raoul will be the next attorney general after getting 54% of the vote to Erika Harold’s 43. Secretary of State Jesse White outdistanced challenger Jason Helland 68% to 29. Comptroller Susana Mendoza retained her over Darlene Senger 60% to 37. Treasurer Michael Frerichs stays in office by topping Jim Dodge 57% to 39.
Congressman Adam Kinzinger held off a challenge from by Sara Dady 59% to 41. Lance Yednock unseated Representative Jerry Long 55% to 45. Senator Sue Rezin retained over challenger Heidi Henry 59% to 41.
The Bureau Count Clerk and Recorder post was won by Matt Eggers over Jeralyn Backes 61% to 39. Joseph Birkey held off Rick Wilkin 58% to 42% in the race for Bureau County Treasurer.
Key referendums were decided on in Bureau County. A sales tax increase that will go towards building a new jail was approved by a 56% to 44% margin. Princeton Elementary District voters rejected the issuance of $35 million in building bonds for a new school. That vote was 52% no to 48% yes.
Both Manlius Fire District propositions were approved and the Lake Arispie referendum passed.
Voters overwhelmingly decided to retain judges Cynthia Raccuglia and Troy Holland.